Running in Skirts

it’s never sunny in philadelphia

Posted on: June 19, 2009

So its been quite a week, huh?  I wish the sun had come out more than once, but cest la vie.  We’ve had some pretty good eats this week… I stopped by trader joes on Monday to get my groceries for the week – check out this loot!  I was pleased – I hardly ever get all my groceries from TJ’s, but this week I gave it a shot, and it wasn’t any more money than I would have spent at the acme!  The bf doesn’t understand why I insist on TJ’s, but I (like most of you out there) like understanding all the ingredients that are in my food!

 IMG00093

Anyway:  some fruits + veggies: eggplant, zucchini (my fave!), naners, tomaters, and an asian stir fry mix that has some peppers, onions, squash, water chestnuts, baby corn, etc.  This was pretty good, but I could do without the water chestnuts, etc and next time will prob just stick to my usual peppers&onions.  (oh and check out those naners – they were huge and only$0.19 a piece!

 IMG00094

Main courses:  frozen chicken breasts, marinated pork tenderloin, asian marinated beef slices, three cheese ravs, and mozz cheese

 IMG00096

And the rest of it:  soyaki (soy sauce + teriyaki!) sauce for our stir fry, which was ok.  A little too sweet maybe… some of the best tomato sauce from a jar that I’ve ever had (reminded me of my mom’s!), whole wheat spaghetti, Israeli couscous, and OMG edamame crackers.  These are ADDICTING, and I highly recommend them. 

Dinner this week was ehh.  Monday I tried roasting the eggplant and made “eggplant parm” ravioli… I tossed the ravs with half the roasted eggplant, the delicious sauce, and some chopped mozz cheese.  It was pretty good.  I could do better with the eggplant, but Robert loved it, so that was good at least. 

IMG00098

 

Tuesday was a pretty easy stirfry, which was pretty good… like I said, the sauce was kind of sweet. 

Wednesday was a great surprise – my uncle was in town and he took me out to dinner!  We went to this little Mediterranean place in the middle of nowhere, and I tried babaganoush for the first time!  WOW!  I might even like this better than hummus!  My main course was Monday’s dinner, only with pasta instead of ravs.  And I ate my uncle’s side of string beans for dessert 🙂  he thought I was crazy.  (oh and two little glasses of some delish white wine!)

 Yesterday was my favorite dinner this week:  marinated pork tenderloin with Israeli couscous mixed with veggies – the zuch, the rest of the eggplant from Monday, and some yummy maters.  I was a little disappointed bc I usually cook all my rice, etc in chicken broth but completely forgot!  So it was a little bland, but I just added a drizzle of butter+garlic for flavor, and topped it with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and it made all the difference!  I made the pork for Robert, and had a few pieces, but I was mainly interested in my couscous and veggies.  I went back for half a bowl of seconds… Super yum!

 Device MemoryhomeuserpicturesIMG00100

Working out this week was sort of a bust.  My legs had still been bothering me since my road race on Thursday, and I was just feeling so blah!  Yesterday I went for my first run in a week, and couldn’t get into it.  I ran/walked for a half hour, but I wish there was more running and less walking.  Oh well!  I’m just glad I got nice and sweaty at least once this week J   oooo and I did buy some new shorts at city sport last night – pretty colors, and a zipper pocket.  For 10 bucks!  Gotta love it.

Tonight I’m meeting my gf’s and their bf’s for drinks outside in manayunk, soaking up the dry weather while we can! (mind you, we’re not soaking up the sun – it went back behind the clouds, booo)  the rest of the weekend is chock full of family parties – we’re celebrating my cousin’s 8th grade graduation, and my great-grandfather’s 99th birthday!  This man is like the energizer bunny!  Here is a pic of the whole gang last year!  Can you believe there are 4 generations in this picture? 

 

 

What’s on everyone’s agenda for the weekend? 

Leave a Reply

Calendar

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

I forget…

Tweet Tweet

Categories

Pages

